Check it out on YouTube

You Tube

Registration and visit to the exhibition booths

Opening [Chaired by Maki Kawai]
Welcome addresses:
Prof. Kohei Tamao (Chairman, Executive Committee for IYPT2019 in Japan)
Prof. Natalia Tarasova (Past President, IUPAC; Co-Chair, Inter-Union Management Committee IYPT2019)
Mr. Philippe Pypaert (Programme Specialist for Natural Sciences, UNESCO Office in Beijing)
on behalf of Ms. Audrey Azoulay (Director General, UNESCO)
Prof. Grigory Trubnikov (Doctor of Physics and Mathematics, RAS Academician; First Deputy Minister of Science and Higher Education of the Russian Federation)
Prof. Hiroshi Matsumoto (President of RIKEN, Japan)

Congratulatory addresses:
Representative from the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT), Japan
Dr. Miyoko O. Watanabe (Vice President, Science Council of Japan)
Prof. Aslan Tsivadze (President, Mendeleev Russian Chemical Society; Head, Materials Science Section of the Russian Academy of Sciences)
Prof. David Cole-Hamilton (Past President, EuChemS; Former Council Member, RSC)
Dr. Bonnie Charpentier (President, American Chemical Society)
Prof. Zhigang Shuai (Vice President, Chinese Chemical Society)
Prof. Hyun-Joon Ha (President, Korean Chemical Society)

Activities in IYPT2019 [Chaired by Ken Sakai]
Dr. Lynn M. Soby (IUPAC Executive Director) “Periodic Table of Younger Chemists”

Presentations on IYPT Exhibitions from Russia, China/Taipei, and Japan

Prof. Alexey Khokhlov (Vice President, Russian Academy of Sciences) "IYPT2019 Activities in Russia"
Prof. Mei-Hung Chiu (Distinguished Professor, National Taiwan Normal University, Graduate Institute of Science Education) “IYPT in Taiwan”
Mr. Yoji Hisamatsu (Ehime Prefectural Science Museum; Vice-Chair, Expert Subcommittee of the Executive Committee for IYPT2019 in Japan) “IYPT Japan Exhibition Highlights”

IYPT events in the world [Chaired by Jan Reedijk]
Events in the World Video summary: Mr. Frank Sekeris
Dr. Bipul Behari Saha (Director ‒ R&D, L.R. Research Laboratories, NACL Industries, India) “IYPT Celebrations in India”
Prof. Christopher Brett (Vice President, IUPAC) “Periodic Table Challenge”
Dr. Brigitte Van Tiggelen (Science History Institute, Chair of the Commission for the History of Chemistry and the Molecular Sciences, International Union for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology) “Women and the Periodic Table in Chemistry”

Discoveries of chemical elements [Chaired by Yoshiteru Maeno]
Prof. José Ramón Bertomeu-Sánchez (Institute "López Piñero" for the History of Medicine and Science, University of Valencia, Spain) [Video Presentation] "Periodic Classifications in Action: Arranging and Discovering Elements during the 19th and Early 20th Century"
Mr. Renaud Huynh (Director, Curie Museum in Paris, France) “Discovery of Radioactive Elements”

Creation of superheavy elements [Chaired by Hideto En’yo]
Scientists who created and discovered superheavy elements will appear on stage to celebrate the completion of the 7th row of the Periodic Table. Special speeches will be given by prominent scientists from the laboratories that contributed largely to the discoveries. Ms. Honoka Motai (Student, Tokyo Gakugei University Senior High School, Japan) will play her piano fantasy “Nihonium” to celebrate the occasion.

Short break

Periodic Table for the next generation (I) [Chaired by Mihoko Nojiri]
Award ceremony for the essay contest in Japan
Short speeches by the awardees

Periodic Table for the next generation (II) [Chaired by Hiroyoshi Sakurai]
Prof. Alexander Sergeev (President, Russian Academy of Science)
Prof. Sir Martyn Poliakoff (University of Nottingham, UK) [Video message]
Prof. Makoto Kobayashi (Honorary Professor Emeritus, High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK), Japan; Nobel Laureate in Physics (2008))
Dr. Akira Yoshino (Honorary Fellow, Asahi Kasei Corporation, Japan; Nobel Laureate in Chemistry (2019)) [Video message]
Short speeches by children (Honoka Motai, Riku Kakuhata, Licht J. Nagamori)

Closing [Chaired by Maki Kawai]
Prof. Qi-Feng Zhou (President, IUPAC)
Prof. Bruce McKellar (Past President, IUPAP)
Prof. Junichi Watanabe (Vice President, International Astronomical Union)

Finale: Musical performance by the “Orchestra Chimica”